An Introduction to Dead Simple

Craig

An Introduction to Dead Simple

Postby Craig » September 7th, 2011, 12:27 pm

An entire fantasy roleplaying game in one page? They said it could not be done, or at the very least not with the depth and fun that you get from a much larger tome?

I have been roleplaying for 35 years, most of it dedicated to D&D, but I have also played roughly thirty other titles as well. Not one of them published a rule book under forty pages and many required you to read hundreds of pages before you could pick up a dice and play. God help you if you wanted to GM any of these games as you had to inwardly digest much, much more. So I set out to liberate people from this endless quest to have a rule for absolutely everything.

Dead Simple is just what it says. I have distilled all the sterotypes from the classic fantasy rpgs into one page covering character creation and the rules of play. It really is all you need for a quick pick up game. However, there is more to it than that.

If you want to keep on playing because you enjoy the freedom that these rules give you then there are a number of one page supplements covering a range of topics including:
    Dead Simple Game Mastering
    Going Underground
    Loot!
    The Marketplace
    The Village of Grobblet
    The Denizens of the Dark
    Dark Forests…
    Death is only the beginning…
    The Tomb of St.Magnus Part 1

Eventually I plan to have twelve one page supplements, meaning your entire reading pile is just 13 pages - lucky for some. The core mechanic of the entire rule set is a single adjusted D20 roll. Could it get much easier? Probably, but even I find coin-tossing and rock-paper-shotgun a bit lacking honestly :lol:

The simplicity of the rules have lent themselves to a range of variants covering everything from caped crusaders to witchhunting in the 17th century, and from Hard Sf to Steampunk. Each of which has had hundreds of downloads from the Blog.
Cheers,
Craig.